New beginnings

So I’m going to Japan this summer to live there for a year to teach English as a foreign language. Or at least that’s the idea…

Isn’t it weird that when you have wanted something so much and worked so hard to reach that goal, that when it actually happens, it’s bloody scary! I have wanted to live abroad for a long time and have always been fascinated by people’s tales of travelling abroad, the mishaps, the trials, the unexpected joys.

I’ve always been interested in Japan – the culture, the food, the people – and found that I actually enjoyed working with kids. Two birds, one stone.

I did a part-time CELTA at Saxoncourt last year and found it immensely helpful! It was not easy, especially when doing that on top of working full-time, but I had a great time and met so many lovely people. I applied to work in Japan and got the job offer! Most likely I will be heading to Tokyo, but a small chance it may be Kyoto or Osaka instead. Tokyo is going to be crazy! I’ve been told it’s like Oxford Street, but all the time!

Ever since then, I’ve been excited, scared and confused. It’s the whole leaping into the unknown that part appeals to me and part terrifies me. But I will never know if I don’t go. I was not made to work in an office. I like travelling and love helping people learn, so to Japan I go!

2 comments

  1. coletteann · March 20, 2015

    Japan is on my ‘If I drop the lottery… list’. To live and work in and immerse yourself into a new culture is a scary but incredible opportunity. I’m looking forward to reading your blog.

    Like

    • littlebearwanders · March 20, 2015

      Thank you! Yes, it does seem super scary, but it’s a great opportunity that would be a pity to miss. Japan has been my dream destination for eons now, so it’s strange to think I will be living there soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

