Hi, nice to meet you….oh yeah btw, I’m moving away in 3 months!

So I went on a date with another guy. In some ways I’m wondering why the hell do I do this when there’s a chance I will like someone and they will like me. That would normally be a good thing. Not when I’m moving to Japan in 3 months time! (Ah scary, is it really 3 months!)

At the same time, I like meeting people and having new experiences. London can be exciting and busy, yet at the same time it can be quite lonely. Also, I like the attention! I am only human.

I met a nice guy last Friday. It was a first date and we got along well. Very well to be honest. We connected, we shared, it was nice. I do feel guilty that I have not told him that I’m going to Japan yet. I need to tell him the next time I see him, but I’m wondering how?

I don’t want to hurt anyone, but also don’t want to scare anyone way. I don’t know how, but I do seem to make such mess out of things!

I remember it’s only happened to me once myself. Last year, I dated a guy from Texas. On the very first date, he told me that he’s going back to the US in 4 months time. It was a bit of a surprise and obviously was something I had to think about. Did I want to continue seeing him when I know it will have to end. Will I get too close and be hurt? In the end, I decided to continue seeing him and we had a good time. We got along and I get too didn’t attached. By the time he had to go back to the US, we had already stopped seeing each other and it worked out fine.

He did the honourable thing and was very honest about it. I have not been honest and vague with plans. By not mentioning it, I’m creating false promises of the possibility of long-term future dating. The likelihood of that is quite low. I know I get attached quite easily and believe I would move mountains for someone if they were worth it, but I’ve often jumped ahead of myself and did not think things clearly.

I will see him in 2 or 3 days time and will have to be honest. It’s going to be hard to mention and will be hard for him to hear (he seems very keen on me), but I dislike the feelings of guilt and dishonesty I have. He deserves honesty.

Leave a Reply

